6 Day Body Makeover: Day 4

Day 4.

I made it over the hump! What a little victory!

I got my blood pressure taken the other day and it’s 106/61, which is considered low, but “normal” because I’m “thin”. I think that’s just a nice way of saying “you’re short” and therefore, my heart doesn’t need to pump as hard to get the blood circulating through my system.

As long as I don’t have high blood pressure, that’s good news…but then again, I’ve never had that problem, I have the opposite situation. Too low blood pressure can lead to poor circulation and in colder temperatures, I notice that I get cold really fast in my extremities and I must bundle up or keep moving to prevent bad things from happening. The doctor always reminds me to stay active to keep the blood flowing and avoid little spells of dizziness, light-headedness, and fatigue.

Food Plan

  • Breakfast: 3 egg whites, 1 blueberry muffin, 1 cup yogurt
  • Lunch:  Pan-fried tilapia, vegetable curry, Spring mix salad, and 1/2 cup steamed rice
  • Snack: 1 handful of melon seeds
  • Dinner: Pan-fried tilapia, vegetable curry, Spring mix salad, and 1/2 cup steamed rice
  • Snack: 1/2 grapefruit with a dash of cinnamon/nutmeg

Last night, I wasn’t hungry during dinner time so I had applesauce instead. I saw that four of my small apples were getting a little wrinkly, so I made applesauce to sustain me for the two hours before bedtime. Perhaps it’s due to the lack of exercise yesterday that prompted less “fuel” for my body.

I got to make some vegetable curry with red potatoes, yellow onions, black eyed peas, and carrots. Lately, I’ve been craving curry, but I didn’t have the opportunity to make it, but now…I have no excuse because it’s the weekend! There’s a lack of snacks today as I stayed in bed later than usual.

By the way, I’m taking a couple of supplements daily. I’m taking a multivitamin, a fiber and iron supplement, and fish oil. When I was young, my mother would give me a spoon of actual fish oil everyday (gross!)…thank goodness for liquid gels. I’m taking these to round out the nutrients I’m not getting in my food. Eventually I want to wean off supplements by having a fully balanced meal plan where I get all the nutrients I need, but I’m not there yet.

Exercise Plan

It’s raining outside, so no jogging and instead, I did a bit of weight training. A while ago, my physical therapy friend gave me a couple of exercises to work out the muscles that I wanted to tone. At the time, I was highly against purchasing workout equipment so he adjusted the exercises by using textbooks and a backpack instead of free weights or heading to the gym. Really, there’s no excuse not to workout because I don’t have the “right” equipment.

Below is the plan he gave me to work out my upper body, specifically, my arms. I used my 7 lb Larousse Gastronomique as the weight. Since I’m starting from the beginning, I’m doing 3 sets with 8 repetitions for a total of 24 per type of exercise. Not a lot to gain bulk, but just enough to build up some strength and extend the muscles for a leaner build.

With all of these exercises, do 3 sets and between 8-10 reps each. The main thing to remember is keep it slow, steady, and controlled. Don’t rush. Also, keep the same speed going into an exercise as going out.

For example, with the modified military press, if you’re bringing the weight above your head really slow, bring it back down to your chest at the same speed. You’ll definitely feel your muscles working.

  1. Push-ups – don’t go on your knees
  2. Fill backpack with books and bring it from your chest to above your head – modified version of a military press which helps tones shoulder muscles
  3. Same backpack, stand but bend over with back flat like a table, legs spread shoulder width apart and pull backpack from the floor to your chest
  4. Same backpack – bicep curls

Photos

Food is delicious and variety is the spice of life. The more colorful your plate, the more well-rounded your meal. I’m so used to having 3 “dishes” for dinner that making my own mini dishes is a challenge. But I don’t mind cooking. In fact, I think the extra preparation and love I put into my meals keeps me healthy. You can get a mini-workout running about the kitchen with all stove tops bubbling and the oven cooking.

*Please don’t steal these photos, I took them myself and I’m very proud of how they turned out. At least email me and link back to this site if you’re going to use them.

Breakfast: blueberry muffin, 3 hard-boiled egg whites, 1 cup raspberry yogurt

Snack: 1 handful of melon seeds

Lunch/Dinner: Pan fried tilapia on Spring Mix salad, Japanese vegetable curry and steamed rice.

Snack: 1/2 grapefruit with cinnamon and nutmeg

3 Responses

  1. I wouldn’t worry about gaining ‘bulk’ since women don’t gain muscle mass the way men do. By training for strength, women usually get that ‘toned’ look everyone always seems to talk about. Depending on your goals, adding some more strength-oriented work outs can be extremely beneficial. Since it seems like you want to steer clear of the gym, you might want to look into learning a few body-weight gymnastics exercises. I would at least peruse around…

    http://www.beastskills.com/tutorials.htm

    …for a few ideas. By the way, congrats on day 4! The rest is downhill.

    PS, that tilapia with vegetable curry is making me so hungry right now!

  2. Been following your blog for 2 weeks now and I should articulate I am beginning to like your blog. How do I support to your web log? how to build muscle mass fast

Leave a Reply

