Is there such a thing as stress baking?

Everyone’s heard about stress eating. When people get stressed, they turn to food for comfort and hence, gain weight.

However, I have a different situation. When I get stressed, I bake. Muffins, cupcakes, pound cakes, regular cakes, brownies, cookies, lemon bars, etc…I make anything and everything that you can stick in the oven. But out of all these things I make, I only want one piece out of the entire batch and that’s it. Even if it sits there every day for a month, I won’t touch it.

Last year, I had roommates, so whenever I would bake, I’d have one and give the rest for them to eat. And man, they polished it off good. It’s not that I don’t bake delicious treats, they are really good…but I only want one. I’m not sure why since most people would want the whole pie or something. But I find that I bake more when I’m stressed than when I’m in a good mood. Perhaps the smell of freshly baked goodies calms my soul.

Nowadays, I don’t buy pre-made desserts, treats, and snacks because I know I can make a version that’s healthier and tastes better. But I don’t bake often anymore and when I do, I try to make breads and rolls instead of tarts and brownies so at least, I’d want to eat more than one piece and I can stick them in the freezer.

What do you to when you’re stressed?

5 Responses

  1. That’s a delicious-looking brownie!

  2. I can’t say I’ve ever had a problem like that. (And I don’t think I ever will if I could bake things that look like THAT). I think you have a gifted restraint if you can only eat ONE of those. Keep up the great post!

    Kevin Tu

  3. I do exactly the same thing and take the extras into work… however my will power is a little different. I’ll probably have one of whatever it is that I make a day …
    🙂

Leave a Reply

