March Madness: Day 6

So last night, I stayed up way later than I normally do and I started to get a bit hungry. At first, I wanted a small snack, but by the time my friends and I found a place that was open, I was full blown hungry and scarfed down a meal of Korean soondubu (tofu stew) and kimchi. I guess you can say that I “cheated” but really, it was quite healthy…spicy tofu with little chunks of beef and pickled cabbage…I could do worse.

Exercise Plan

I felt a little tight in my quads and hamstrings this morning, so I did a 30 minute stretch on my own. Since I was already up, I did Kenpo. At about 85% effort, I definitely increased the intensity of the workout from previous sessions. (I think 80-90% effort is good…any more,  you’re potentially going to hurt yourself.)

I talked to my friend about the whole P90X Doubles situation and he suggested that I try harder and not coast through the workouts from here on out. So that means, 10 lb weights for 10 reps for the arms next time and aiming for the next level of difficulty in the abs workout and such.

I got a few adjustments for some of the positions that I was unsure about, but overall I have good form. I’m a bit of a stickler for form and technique so it’s good to get feedback about how to do things properly. Besides, if you do the moves wrong, you can pull a muscle or something.

Food Plan

  • Breakfast: 4 mini pumpkin pancakes, 1 hard-boiled egg, 1/2 cup yogurt , 1/2 grapefruit with cinnamon
  • Snack: 2 Girl Scout Thin Mints
  • Lunch: pan-fried taro cake with Hoisin sauce
  • Snack: 2 Girl Scout Peanut Butter Sandwiches
  • Dinner: ratatouille with Trader Joe’s harvest blend
  • Snack: Beet juice and blood orange jello with yogurt and mint

Who doesn’t love Girl Scout cookies? They only come once a year and this year, I ended up with 3 boxes. I don’t usually eat cookies and sweets, but when I do…I don’t eat too many at once. Plus, today was cooking day, so I definitely worked up a sweet tooth after making several savory dishes.

It’s funny that ratatouille is considered French comfort food and it’s deliciously healthy because it’s normally made with eggplant, zucchini, squash, and tomato. I made my own version with eggplant, cucumber and tomato. American comfort food can be healthy such as beef stew or chicken noodle soup. But more often than not, we comfort ourselves with fried chicken and mac and cheese instead. If only we had the healthy stuff more often, we’d be much better off.

Photos


JWONG819
90493646
PW: 2ayq6b0p1gw0

Leave a Reply

