March Madness: Day 8

It’s the start of week 2.

Right after exercising today, my body cooled down super fast and I had to shower quickly, or put on more layers to protect myself. It’s pretty ridiculous, my body is getting colder, but my hands stay warm.

I took a nap after 6 PM today and I do feel better, but I missed dinner, so I had a snack. Someone told me that I’ve been sleepy lately because my body is getting used to the workouts, so it’s repairing my body when I sleep…which is probably why I’m not very sore the same day or the next day. But once my body gets used to it, I won’t be so sleepy and instead, I’ll feel more energized. I can’t wait for that day…I feel so lame being sleepy mid-day.

Exercise Plan

P90X Chest & Back and Ab Ripper X. For Chest & Back, at about 80% effort, I started to feel it in round 2. I don’t have a pull-up bar, but I used my green resistance band on the doorway and got in my pull-ups. Besides, I don’t think I can do actual pull-ups right now, so having a bar is a waste.

I did 15 max reps, 20 reps with a 10 lb weight for heavy pants and lawnmower, and 10 reps with 10 lb weights for back flys. It was suggested to me to use 10 lb weights instead of 5 lbs and for this program, I’m thinking I can do 15 lbs and lower the reps to 10-15. The back fly is pushing me…my back isn’t strong enough for that yet.

For Ab Ripper X, I did all the exercises except for 12 of the sit-ups once again. But for the mason twists, I did 40 reps with a 5 lb weight and that really got me going. It seems like the more I do Ab Ripper X, the shorter it seems!

Overall, a good start to the week and I probably should get some 15 lb weights. I can’t wait to add cardio on these double days…but I should stick to the schedule and not get ahead of myself.

Food Plan

  • Breakfast: 2 hard-boiled eggs, 1 cup multi-grain oatmeal, and 1/2 grapefruit
  • Snack: 2 pork “taquitos” with guacamole and chili sauce
  • Snack: raw carrots
  • Lunch: pan-fried tilapia, veggie curry with mushroom stew and steamed rice
  • Snack: home-made peach “crumble” with yogurt and mint

I haven’t eaten raw carrots since I was in high school! But for some reason, I was craving it. Aside from a week’s shadow-craving of chicken wings…I think my cravings are leveling out. Seriously, I crave food…anything, healthy or non-healthy for no reason at all during random hours of the day. If you didn’t know me, you’d think I was whacked out or pregnant. But luckily, I’m none of those.

Photo


2 Responses

  1. I really dig your menu. You seem to be eating very similar to the plan my nutritionist laid out for me. IMO this type of eating really helps your metabolism and evades hunger that leads to binging or overeating.

    And the peach dessert sounds A-mazing. I used to do something similar with wheat germ.

Leave a Reply

