March Madness: Day 12

It’s Friday!

I’m in a baking mood, so I’m picking my up Bread Bible, looking for a recipe to try. I already made white bread a la Julia Child and that turned out wonderfully. You can see the results for my sandwiches and French toast. Plus, I was a bit nostalgic for comfort food, hence the mac & cheese. Since I didn’t exercise in the morning, my food consumption has been pretty low.

Exercise Plan

P90X Legs & Back and Ab Ripper X. I did this double workout in the evening today and I don’t think I’ll attempt that again. I was so tired at the end of the day, I wasn’t as excited to complete it, but I finished.

For Legs & Back, I did 25 reps for most exercises, 20 reps for pull-ups with a green resistance band, and 15 reps for the step backward lunges. For the exercises that added weights, I used 10 lb dumbbells. I know I need to go lower on the sneaky lunges and I definitely felt the burn during the calf raises.

My right knee was feeling funky halfway through on the lunges, so I eased up on it. It wasn’t anything serious, but I wanted to be careful just in case.

As for Ab Ripper X, I did all the exercises and did 50 reps with a 5 lb weight for the Mason twists. I had a mini breakthrough during the hip rock and raise exercise. It always felt awkward, but after reviewing the exercise a couple of times and listening more carefully to the directions, I finally know how to do it properly!

Food Plan

  • Breakfast: 2 slices of home-made French toast with maple syrup and 1 hard-boiled egg
  • Lunch: rotisserie chicken sandwich with baby lettuce salad, alfalfa sprouts, strawberry jam, and balsamic vinegar
  • Dinner: home-made gruyere mac & cheese with almond meal and parsley
  • Snack: 1 blood orange

Photo


2 Responses

  1. All these look great and healthy, I’ll have to try them. I’ve never had a blood orange but it looks really delicious!

    • The blood oranges are quite tasty. The flesh ranges from a light grapefruit pink to an almost dark maroon. I saw them on sale at Trader Joe’s… $2 for 10 small ones and I had to get them since their season is really short…like Jan-March or something. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

