The Things We Do To Ourselves

It’s kind of weird the things you find on the internet.

I’ve started reading some fitness, weight loss, and health blogs. Some are very useful and have actual relevant material. Others are extreme and silly that I wonder… “Are you for real?” There are people who are desperate to get “in shape” but don’t exercise and instead, rely on cleanses, diets, and non-recognizable food options to lose weight and inches from their body. Or there are people who refuse to change their food habits but exercise to the point where they injure themselves. Sure these are generalizations, but the fact remains…people ACTUALLY do this stuff.

I remember my friend’s weight loss story.

From elementary school to high school, he was the “funny, overweight kid”. In the summer before college, he decided he wanted a change. He didn’t want to be known as the “funny, overweight kid”…he wanted a new identity. So, he went on an apple and potato diet. For the entire summer, he ate apples and potatoes ONLY and went jogging and weight-lifting regularly. By the time it was freshman orientation, he lost so much weight, he looked and felt like a different person. When I first met him on the first day of college, he was pretty trim. I wouldn’t have known that he was overweight 3 months ago.

But even now, he still struggles in his relationship with food and exercise. He doesn’t quite understand what it takes to stay in shape. His weight has only fluctuated 5-10 lbs over the years, so he hasn’t changed much since that extreme diet. Still, he is always on a new “fad” diet and runs a couple miles to work off his “junk food calories.” Every time I come across him, he always asks me “How do you stay healthy?”

Honestly, there is no secret to it. It’s a simple concept, but it takes years to understand and master. Even I’m not perfect. Personally, I believe that if you want to look good, be healthy, and stay fit…you need to have a balanced food plan and a regular exercise routine. It’s not something you do for 30-90 days, it’s something you do for the rest of your life.

Currently, I’m doing P90X, but that doesn’t mean I just started to exercise recently, it’s that I’m putting myself on a regular exercise schedule. And after P90X, I’ll continue to exercise whether or not it’s with P90X. And I never really changed my “diet,” I just eat what I like and keep everything in moderation. Perhaps it’s just me, but I don’t like to eat the same foods prepared the same way every single day. I mix it up and try to add as much variety as possible. That way, I won’t be tired of the same foods and even if I eat greasy foods, it’s countered by the rest of the week or month of healthy eating.

Life is too short to cut out the things you really love.

Leave a Reply

