Weekly Update II

This was a great week to jump back into the swing of things however once my cousin arrived from overseas on Friday, I put an end to all my workouts as she’s staying with me for the next 5 days. It’s been fun having her around since she’s a doctor finishing up her specialty in endocrinology. So, taking her around has been quite taxing on my body without doing extra workouts and eating good food but in smaller portions is helping me maintain my current status.

Here’s a quick recap of my week:

5 Day Workout

  1. Shoulders & Arms/Ab Ripper X: 10 reps with 10 lb weight for most exercises, 15-16 reps with 5 lb weights for tricep exercises, static arm curls, seated shoulder flys, and bonus round. 20 chair dips, 25 side tri-rise, and 50 mason twists with 5 lb weight. Felt a bit of fatigue in my shoulders and arms, but not enough to be sore.
  2. Yoga X: attempted twisting half moon, crane, wheel for 1/2 the set and then back to bridge, better at the yoga belly section. I did upward dog instead of cobra and added push-ups. Getting better at yoga, feel more flexible, and more energized after the workout.
  3. Legs & Back/Ab Ripper X: 10 lbs with 25 reps. 15 pullups but further away with green resistance band.
  4. Kenpo X: Kept up with the video program, still need to figure out how to actually do the moves properly.
  5. Rest: Much needed, but ended up walking over 5 miles around town.

Overall, I did pretty well but I still need to increase the intensity because I’m not sore, which is kind of strange since I keep hearing people getting sore from these workouts. Since this is the 3rd week of P90X, I think my body is starting to get used to it and that’s why it’s easier for me to complete these exercises. I’ll be starting up Week 4 of P90X on Tuesday. Hopefully once the double session kicks in week 5, I’ll be feeling the “pain.”

Food Plan

At the beginning of the week, I ate according to my previous plan before the break but I was so hungry that I snacked more than I usually do. So, I decided to increase the amount of carbs in my food plan to curb the hunger since I’m probably increasing muscle tone so it burns through the calories faster. Also, once my cousin arrived we ate out at several restaurants instead of my normal meals. Still, it’s quite nice to get some variety aside from home-cooked food.

Photos

The home-made ones.

Pearl Barley with Strawberries and Hard-boiled Eggs

Rice Porridge with Century Egg, Japanese seasonings, and green onions

Coconut Jello with Blueberries and Strawberries

Sardine “salad” Sweet Potato Sandwich with Coconut Jello and Strawberries

Red and Green Oak Salad with Beets and Heirloom Tomatoes and Sardine “Salad” Sweet Potato Sandwich

Sardine “Salad” Sweet Potato Sandwich

Red Melon Seeds

Roasted Wasabi Peas

Leave a Reply

