End Phase I of P90X

It officially took me 45 days to complete Phase I of P90X Doubles. The first 30 days (Phase I) is scheduled just like Classic, so there was no doubling up of workouts aside from adding Ab Ripper X to the strength program. My delay in completing Phase I was due to a week of traveling and then I had a vacationing relative at my place for another week. Nevertheless, I’m ready to start Phase II, which is where I’ll actually be doing the Doubles schedule of workouts.

The workouts weren’t too difficult to master in Phase I, though I have a lot to improve upon, which is a good thing. The strength-training exercises like Chest & Back, Legs & Back, and Shoulder & Arms have helped me get stronger. I’m starting to use 15 lb weights for Phase II for some of the exercises, which is quite surprising to me. However, for tricep exercises, I still use 5 lb weights.

Kenpo feels more like an aerobic workout than a martial arts training session, but it does get the blood flowing. As for Yoga, I’m getting better every time, though I’m still working my way up to perfecting Crane, the Yoga Belly section, and Wheel. The Stretch program is simple and basic. It’s pretty helpful since I find stretching to be one of the most important parts of keeping your body in great shape. I do additional stretches sometimes since the ones provided in the program isn’t always enough.

Plyometrics and Core Synergistics knock down my confidence a few notches and makes me realize how out of shape I am in reference to these specific workouts. They’re challenging for me and it really takes a lot of effort for me to complete these two workouts, but it’s a good thing since I have 60 more days to go. So by the end, I’ll master it.

Measurements

.

Start of Phase I End of Phase I
Height: 5′1″
Weight: 103
Chest: 30.5″
Waist: 24.5″
Hips: 33″
Thigh: 18″
Calf: 13″
Arm: 9.5″
Height: 5′1″
Weight: 103
Chest: 30″
Waist: 24″
Hips: 33″
Thigh: 18″
Calf: 13.25″
Arm: 9.5″

So, not much has changed but I expected as much since I’m not really trying to lose weight or anything. Externally, I want to look more toned, but internally, I want to be stronger, more flexible, and have more endurance.

Photos

Here are my photos after doing 45 days of P90X in Phase I. They all look about the same so I’m guessing the changes will show by the end of the program. FYI, the right is the before and the left is the after.


9 Responses

  1. You can see the changes in your pics even though the measurements didn’t change much. Great job and keep up the good work.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Just Fortuitous, Just Fortuitous. Just Fortuitous said: Summary of Phase I: http://wp.me/pPiRI-jJ […]

  3. Your abs are looking great!

  4. Awesome! I was debating if I should buy P90X or Insanity! After reading your post, maybe P90X might be something I’m interested in.

    • From P90X, I definitely gained more strength, coordination, and flexibility from these past few weeks. It’s a challenge, but a worthwhile one if you’re willing to put in the necessary time and effort. =) Best of luck to you!

  5. The difference is evident from the side… your upper abs are showing some definition, as are your legs. Great work, what an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

