Weekly Update IV

Exercise Plan

Since I offset my P90X plan, my rest days are on Tuesdays. So, this week, it was the last two days of my Recovery Week and I’m starting on Phase Two, Week 1 of Doubles. I took two extra days off since my shoulders were feeling strange and I needed more rest. But I started Doubles officially on Friday and I think it went pretty well. I did the strength-training and ab workouts in the morning with the cardio exercises at night.

  • Yoga: didn’t finish because I felt tired and hungry. I stopped during the yoga belly section, with 15 minutes left of the program to spare. I did pretty well and lasted longer in the crane and wheel positions. My shoulders were feeling a bit weak, but other than that, no major pain.
  • Stretch: I definitely needed to stretch and discovered that I am a little bit more flexible.
  • Break (2 Days)
  • Chest, Shoulders & Triceps, Ab Ripper X, Cardio X: stayed with 5 lb weights and lower reps (10-15) to adjust to the new workout. Skipped Cardio X. Felt sore in my chest, shoulders, and triceps the next day…guess it’s working.
  • Plyometrics: Made it through to the bonus round. Must go lower on the lunges and jump higher, but it was late and I didn’t want to disturb my downstairs neighbors.
  • Back & Biceps, Ab Ripper X, Cardio X: I used 10 lb and 15 lb weights for most of the exercises and alternated between 10-15 reps. For the forearm exercises, I used 5 lb weights and 15 reps. I don’t want large forearms! Ab Ripper X was ok, but there’s still more room for improvement. Cardio was pretty easy and flew by really quick even though I did it at night.

Food Plan

I haven’t been eating the healthiest this week, but I was never really starving either. But I notice that I can’t eat much per meal, but I eat more smaller meals throughout the day and snack in between. I need to cook up some more food since I’m running low on reserves and my fridge is stocked with ingredients, but few completed dishes. Hopefully next week will feel more settled in the food plan.

Photos

Here’s some quick snapshots of what I ate during this week:

French Toast with Scrambled Eggs and Bacon

Air-popped popcorn (no butter, no salt)

Steel-cut oatmeal with blueberries

Sizzling Rice Soup

Frozen Vanilla Yogurt with Strawberry and Graham Cracker Crumbs

I know it’s silly to post up disconnected photos of your body, but I’m proud of my abs thus far. Last year, my sole exercise goal was to have great abs and I did ok, but it wasn’t as defined as they are now from Phase I of P90X. I’m hoping that by the end of P90X, it’ll be “beach-ready.” LOL. To some, I might be already there, but I want everything to be flatter and a bit more defined. By the way, I am not sucking it in.

One Response

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Just Fortuitous. Just Fortuitous said: #p90x weekly progress…end recovery week and first week of doubles: https://shapeandmold.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/weekly-update-iv/ […]

Leave a Reply

