Attacking Yogurt

For years, I’ve had all those yogurts with flavors like Key Lime Pie and Strawberry Shortcake. I never thought twice about it since I thought that’s the only way yogurt is packaged. It tasted pretty good and I liked seeing small pieces of fruit embedded into the yogurt.

It wasn’t until this past March that I tried plain yogurt. When I first tasted it, it was sour and I thought it already went bad since I was used to sweet-tasting yogurt. I asked a friend and they told me that yogurt is supposed to be sour and that’s its natural taste. In fact, the sourness complements the sweetness of fresh fruit like strawberries and tangerines.

I did a little research into yogurt and I found out that it is best to look for yogurt with “live and active cultures” or “probiotics” for maximum benefit. It contains a good source of protein and calcium as well as other vitamins.

Since I primarily shop at Trader Joe’s the tub above is my current go-to yogurt. Currently, I can’t eat a single cup serving of yogurt yet, but a half cup with fresh fruit is plenty. I need to try other condiments like adding peanut butter or cocoa powder to yogurt for a different taste. Any suggestions?

Also, I’m ready to branch out and try Greek yogurt and kefir since I hear good things about it. I’m a bit unsure about kefir since it’s fermented and it might be one of those acquired tastes. Still, I want to try new things.

When you really think about it, isn’t it strange that we have to cover up the flavor of yogurt to make it more palatable? Everyone knows that there’s a lot of sugar in flavored yogurt, but would you forgo the artificial flavor altogether?

One Response

  1. Try Greek Yogurt. It was my favorite! Just plain, nothing in it. It is delicious. I also used to eat Kefir and loved it, especially peach. Both are a little sour tasting but I liked them. If you like sour cream you probably will, too. Good luck! Sounds fun!

Leave a Reply

