Setting Food Goals

I love to eat, who doesn’t?

I savor each and every bite, using all my senses to appreciate the meal placed before me. I eat what I want, when I want.

For several years, I’ve been working on having better eating habits. I’ve weaned myself off of fast food to the point that now, I don’t crave it and it makes me kind of queasy when I do eat it.

I have steak 6 times a year. I have red meat once a week, if that. I eat a lot of pork, chicken, and seafood. I eat a lot of vegetables, but not enough fruit. I don’t eat salad all the time because I get tired of chewing, same goes for nuts. I eat way too much cheese but not enough dairy. I’m mildly lactose-intolerant. I have no allergies, except for Trader Joe’s pre-made Italian food products…and maybe cantaloupe, honeydew, and pineapple.

With the new year, instead of denying myself food, I try to add something to my plate. I know I need more fruit, dairy, and iron in my diet. So, I’m trying to eat fruit and have strawberry kefir at least 3 times a week. As for iron, I haven’t thought of a solution yet.

These goals may be easy for some people, but not for me. It’s a good start.

Leave a Reply

