The Breakfast of Champions

oatmeal

When I can make breakfast, I usually opt for steel cut oatmeal.

It’s cheap, it’s healthy, and it’s easy to make at home.

And it’s pretty much the only thing that keeps me full for about 3 hours in the morning.

Any combination of cereal, omelettes, toast, yogurt, bananas, and OJ only fill me up for the hourly commute. You know what a pain it is to arrive at your destination ravenous? When I’m hungry and not satisfied, I get grumpy. My body doesn’t function without the proper fuel.

So what do I put in my oatmeal?

Since I’m slightly lactose, I don’t add any milk to my oatmeal…water works just as well.

For sweets, I don’t add any sugar or honey, I only add berries, oranges, apples, bananas, and other fruits (fresh, frozen, or dried). Sometimes, I add some cinnamon or vanilla. When I’m in a savory mood, I pop in chopped proscuitto, eggs, nuts, and whatever I feel like adding. And when I’m really lazy, I add a small scoop of peanut butter and jelly.

If other people make oatmeal for me…like complimentary hotel breakfasts…I have to add brown sugar, honey, or maple syrup to make it more palatable in addition to other toppings. Most of the time, if I eat out for breakfast or brunch, I don’t order oatmeal unless everything else isn’t good.

Why waste money eating oatmeal at a restaurant when I can make a perfectly good bowl myself?

Leave a Reply

