Workout Recap: Jan Week 2

This past week, Jan 6-12, I’ve gotten back in the habit of going rock climbing again. It’s been about 7 months since I started and I’m really enjoying it. My friends and I are trying to get into shape so we can start taking lead belaying classes by summer.

I recently stopped taiko drumming which is a very intensive workout as well as a musical/rhythmic activity. It took too much time to  drive over an hour one way to practice for 3 hours twice a week. The drive killed me and after 3 months, it was time to call it quits. So it’s back to more rock climbing!

This week’s workouts:

  • Sunday: top-roping for 1.5 hours (6 climbs)
  • Monday: top-roping for 2 hours (11 climbs)
  • Thursday: top roping for 2 hours (10 climbs)

My current climbing level is about 5.10a-5.11a, which is considered intermediate to advanced. The 5.10a is the warmup route and the 5.11a is the challenge route. Within that range, my friends and I try to do as many as we can before our hands give out.

Next week, I’m hoping to add some cardio into my workouts so it’s not solely strength intensive.

Leave a Reply

