Testing Out the Green Smoothie

first green smoothie blend

It’s a fad.

It’s a trend.

And yet, is there something to be said for green smoothies?

I’ve seen plenty of people rocking green smoothies as a way to stay healthy in the new year and I was curious and skeptical. Since I’m not a fan of sweet smoothies, the veggie version may have a more neutral flavor profile. So I asked around and decided to give it a go.

I’d use it not as a meal replacement or with a meal…but as a snack. I tend to have peaks and valleys when it comes to hunger. I’m either really ravenous or pretty full with a few periods of contentment. My body doesn’t like regular 3 times a day meal times. To moderate those extreme swings and so it doesn’t affect my mood so much, I’m testing out this green smoothie thing.

The current plan is to have my usual meals. In between meals, I’d have this smoothie to keep me going whenever I’m feeling a little hungry. Since it’s all the usual fruits and veggies I need anyway, it’s just another way of getting it…slightly more convenient.

I hate feeling constantly hungry, so maybe this IV-like smoothie regimen would balance out my hunger pangs.

green smoothie recipe ingredients fruits veggies

The First Green Smoothie Recipe

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 1 gala apple
  • 1 orange
  • 1 nub of ginger
  • 1 serving of romaine lettuce
  • 1 handful of frozen broccoli
  • 2 cups frozen mango chunks
  • 4 celery stalks

Tastes like:

Cold cream of broccoli soup with a hint of celery, slightly sweet and tangy, and a peppery kick of ginger at the end. (Smells kind of like grass…but it’s not bad.)

Results:

I only consumed 1/3 of the smoothie a day. After the first half of each day’s serving, it tasted too sweet. Next time, I’ll swap in Greek yogurt, coconut milk, and add more dark leafy greens. Seems like a 1:1 ratio of fruit to vegetables works pretty well. Just need to keep tweaking the recipe to get what I want.

Leave a Reply

