Tracking Food 2

whole foods grocery

I haven’t been tracking my food intake for the past week because I’ve been in Hong Kong and it’s hard to say what I’ve been eating and the portion size because I’ve been indulging in a lot of rich and “unhealthy” food. It felt like I was having a banquet every meal so I’m trying to “detox” before heading off to LA this weekend.

This past week, I haven’t been eating well either because my sis demanded Pizza Hut and I’ve been so jetlagged that I didn’t feel like eating. But my appetite is starting to grow again and I picked up some groceries to last the next couple weeks.

What I bought for the next 2 weeks:

  • 1 can of sardines in olive oil
  • 1.06 lb purple Jasmine rice
  • Red pepper hummus
  • 1 bag of heirloom fingerling potatoes
  • 8 oz. package of white mushrooms
  • 1 package of Sonoma flatbread (5 slices)
  • 1 container of Vitamin D supplements
  • 1 package of Ezekiel hot dog buns
  • 1 package of spicy soppresseta
  • 1 bunch of arugula
  • 1 tube of sunscreen
  • 1 tub of Greek plain yogurt
  • 6 organic brown eggs
  • 1 container of coconut water

If I take out the sunscreen and the supplements, my total grocery bill would be about $40. Whole Foods is more expensive than Trader Joe’s, but there’s a different variety of goods here that I can’t get at Traders. So I’m trying it out to see how long it can last before the next round of groceries.

I also signed up for a local co-op delivery service which costs about $20 a week for organic and local fruit and vegetables. I’m hoping that this service will lower my overall grocery bill while giving me a chance to try new recipes.

A little variety is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

