On Diets, Cheats, and Rewards

I love to break rules. Who doesn’t?

If someone tells you to NOT do something, aren’t you just itching to try it out?

When it comes to eating healthy, I find that most people set themselves up to fail. Because they start by saying NO to everything they love to eat and YES to everything they hate. I’m sure some people can do cold turkey really well, but not everyone and certainly not me.

Short term diets are worthless.

I don’t believe that dieting really solves your problems. It has to be a complete lifestyle change where you don’t go back to eating the way you did before. There’s no turning back once you go on this road…otherwise, it will lead you back to where you were before…square one.

I believe in taking small positive steps that eventually lead to larger steps. Things like replacing your daily cookie with an apple. Swapping ice cream for yogurt (not the frozen kind). Making better choices everyday that will lead to a better eating habits.

I don’t believe in cheats, cheat meals, or cheat days.

If you’re going to eat healthy, it will be a wobbly path. There will be temptations and sometimes, you’re gonna have that extra helping of cheesecake. Guess what? That’s ok. Don’t beat yourself up for it unless it’s the 5th extra helping of dessert you’ve had this week. Allow yourself some flexibility in your food plan and you can pretty much eat whatever you want in moderation.

Like my parents’ oft quoted Chinese proverb:

Small bites lead to more flavor, but a big appetite leads to tastelessness. 

I don’t believe in rewards either.

Why should you be rewarded for doing what you’re SUPPOSED to be doing in the first place? Sure, you can be proud of your achievements but don’t use food as a reward. Find something else to signify your achievements like a massage or a new haircut.

Don’t rely on food as an emotional crutch.

When it comes to creating good and healthy eating habits, you have to keep looking forward. Sure, you may stumble every now and then but as long as you keep your eye on the prize, you’ll be fine!

Trust me, I still eat real full fat bacon and I’m proud of it. But I also eat a lot of green leafy veggies and sometimes, I crave fruit. Yes, I’m weird but it keeps me healthy!

Leave a Reply

