Why I Don’t Eat “Bars”

Almost every health and fitness blog or article has some mention of bars.

Some to build muscle, some to keep you going, and some just because it’s “healthy”. But unless you’re doing something really specific, I don’t think the majority of us really need it.

Personally, my body doesn’t know what to do with bars.

Is it real, is it fake? Energy, fat, protein? What the heck is it?

Usually after consuming half a bar, my body has an adverse reaction and it doesn’t make me feel very good afterwards. So I only have eat these in extreme circumstances like during a race or a long run. Honestly, they taste like sickly sweet chalky cardboard to me no matter how much chocolate, peanut butter, or whatever flavoring is added onto it. There’s no way they could taste good but then again, most people who eat them probably don’t care anyway.

Instead of bars, I have home made granola that consists of oats, nuts, seeds, and dried fruit. I don’t add any sweeteners because it doesn’t need it. The fruit is sweet enough.

Bars are another category on the grocery aisle that I don’t need to visit.

One Response

  1. Couldn’t agree more – re: ‘sickly sweet chalky cardboard’!

Leave a Reply

