Eat Clean: Clam Chowder

clam chowder

One of my favorite soups growing up was Campbell’s Clam Chowder.

As I grew up, I discovered several gourmet versions that changed my mind of what clam chowder should look and taste like. Places like Ford’s Filling Station (Los Angeles) and Hog’s Island (San Francisco) crafted a soup where you actually have clams in shell in a sea of flavorful broth.

My mother recently took it upon herself to make her own version. Coming from a Cantonese food tradition, my mother loves light seafood broths. She prepared a flavorful fish broth in which she added a few classic clam chowder ingredients. Super simple and super delicious.

I don’t have the exact recipe since she just sort of improvised, but here’s the ingredients that she used:

  • Fish broth
  • Milk
  • Russett potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Green onions
  • Clams in shell

I’m sure I’ll be duplicating and refining a version of my own clam chowder soon. But at least I know it’s not so challenging to create. Clam chowder doesn’t have to be super heavy and fatty for it to taste good.

A little simplicity goes a long way.

Leave a Reply

