Operation Get Moving: Day 40 Results!

My 40 day Operation Get Moving challenge is finished and what a learning process!

For the last week, I ran 3 times for about 2-2.5 miles each and I went rock climbing once. I’m getting better at running more consistently and building my endurance. As for rock climbing, we’re starting to get more into lead climbing v. top roping, but it’s way more challenging since it feels like we’re starting all over again. For top roping, I can climb about 5.10c/5.10d routes and for lead, I climb5.9/ 5.10a ones. Hopefully, I’ll improve more as the weeks go by.

Overall, I kept up my rock climbing schedule and added a few other events in between like hiking, jogging, and P90X Kenpo. Getting 3 workouts in a week isn’t too difficult since I only require 30 minutes of exercise to count and rock climbing usually takes up 2 of the workouts.

Here’s the workout breakdown:

  • Week 1: 3 workouts
  • Week 2: 4 workouts
  • Week 3: 0 workouts
  • Week 4: 2 workouts
  • Week 5: 4 workouts
  • Week 6: 4 workouts

Total: 17 workouts in 6 weeks

If I average it out,  it’s almost 3 days a week of workouts. I’m short one day, so I didn’t succeed 100% but that’s pretty darn close! Since I went on vacation during Week 3, I think the sightseeing made up for the lack of regular exercise anyway. This first phase of Operation Get Moving is to get by body used to having a regular exercise schedule.

The next round is to pick up the pace and really start getting some results. For the next 40 days , I’ll try to complete 4 workouts a week. I’m hoping to improve my cardiovascular system and build endurance. So far, I can run about 2 miles but I can be better. By the end of the next challenge, I hope I can run a 5K without taking a break to walk it out.

As for body changes, there wasn’t a significant difference but I didn’t expect it to change soon. Perhaps after the next round there might be something more noticeable. Here’s to the start of another round to GET MOVING!

My short term and long term goals

  • Have a regular exercise schedule
  • Finish lead climbing class and climb outdoors
  • Finish this 40 day challenge – 2 times this year (finished once)
  • Be able to run a half marathon by Dec 2013
  • Slim and tone body, reach goal weight (lose 5-10 lbs)

Current Stats

  • Height: 61″
  • Weight: 109.2 lbs (gained 0.5 lbs)
  • BMI: 20.6 (normal-increased 0.1)
  • Blood pressure: 106/63 (low normal)
  • Bust: 31″
  • Waist: 25″ (decreased by 1″)
  • Hips: 34″
  • Arm: 10″
  • Thigh: 18″
  • Calf: 13″
Leave a Reply

